The Latest Research and Policy Issues Surrounding the Use of Body-Worn Cameras in Law Enforcement

Body Camera Research
Registrations: 227

Date/Time by Timezone

Tue, Aug 7th, 2018 3:00 PM - 4:00 PM ET
Tue, Aug 7th, 2018 2:00 PM - 3:00 PM CT
Tue, Aug 7th, 2018 1:00 PM - 2:00 PM MT
Tue, Aug 7th, 2018 12:00 PM - 1:00 PM PT

First Name

Last Name

Organization Name

Email

Job Title

Justice Domain

By claiming your spot below you are giving consent to Justice Clearinghouse and partners to use this information to send additional emails and communications as described in the Privacy Policy below

Police body-worn cameras (BWCs) have diffused rapidly in law enforcement in the United States and abroad over the last few years. The rapid diffusion of police BWCs has been driven, in part, by findings from a handful of early research studies which suggest cameras can produce a range of positive outcomes, including reductions in use of force and citizen complaints, enhanced prosecution outcomes, and increased perceptions of procedural justice among citizens.

However, more recent research demonstrates that positive outcomes are not always guaranteed. Several studies, for example, have documented no impact on use of force and citizen complaints. At the same time, many police departments have struggled with how to address key, controversial issues in BWC policy. Four decades of research demonstrate that good policy will translate to good practice, and good practice is a pre-requisite for generating positive outcomes.

This webinar accomplishes two tasks. First, Dr. White will review the latest research on BWCs to identify what we know, what we think we know, and what we don’t know. Second, Dr. White will focus on the importance of good policy for achieving positive outcomes, and he will describe the results of an analysis of 129 BWC policies across a handful of controversial issues: activation, citizen notification, officer authority to review footage, and supervisor authority to review footage. 

Additional Resources
11 months ago
Research and Policy Issues Use of Body-worn Cameras: An Interview with Dr. Michael White
Police body cameras were initially heralded as a landmark in policing: as a way to not only monitor […]
X