Mastering Police Work

Registrations: 13

Date/Time by Timezone

Thu, Sep 12th, 2019 1:00 PM - 2:00 PM ET
Thu, Sep 12th, 2019 12:00 PM - 1:00 PM CT
Thu, Sep 12th, 2019 11:00 AM - 12:00 PM MT
Thu, Sep 12th, 2019 10:00 AM - 11:00 AM PT

First Name

Last Name

Organization Name

Email

Job Title

Justice Domain

By claiming your spot below you are giving consent to Justice Clearinghouse and partners to use this information to send additional emails and communications as described in the Privacy Policy below

This course provides highlights and key points from Dr. Fox’s book “The Ultimate Guide to Being a Great Police Officer: A Guide to Professional Policing.” This course is for those interested in becoming an officer or who is already an officer as well as those who train and lead officers.  We will discuss key skills needed to be a great officer. Our focus will be on the skills needed to be successful during training and throughout one’s career, how to develop decision-making skills, and how to effectively communicate. We discuss key patrol issues such as policing strategies, patrol techniques, enforcement issues, officer survival, and use of force. Further, we will examine investigative techniques, dealing with juveniles, understanding intelligence, and report writing among other useful tips. Many of these tips can be applied across all public service disciplines.

Additional Resources
11 months ago
Creating and Managing Organizational Change
The only permanent thing in the world is change. Trite as it might sound, it’s the reality. Change […]
1 year ago
Thoughts on Crisis Management
Dan Linskey, Superintendent-in-Chief of the Boston Police Department during the Boston Marathon bomb […]
1 year ago
Developing the Individual and Organizational Ethic: An Interview with Dr. Jeff Fox
Ethics, whether we realize it or not, is a foundation of our governmental and justice system -- even […]
2 years ago
Role of the First Line Supervisor: An Interview with Jeff Fox
  The manager's job has never been an easy one. But management and leadership for public sec […]
X