Mindfulness in Domestic Violence Work: Working with Victims (Part I)

Registrations: 105

Date/Time by Timezone

Thu, May 23rd, 2019 3:00 PM - 4:00 PM ET
Thu, May 23rd, 2019 2:00 PM - 3:00 PM CT
Thu, May 23rd, 2019 1:00 PM - 2:00 PM MT
Thu, May 23rd, 2019 12:00 PM - 1:00 PM PT

First Name

Last Name

Organization Name

Email

Job Title

Justice Domain

By claiming your spot below you are giving consent to Justice Clearinghouse and partners to use this information to send additional emails and communications as described in the Privacy Policy below

Although utilizing trauma-informed principles is a beneficial tool when successfully serving clients who are victims of domestic violence and sexual violence, going a step further by being mindful will get you that much further with this population. This webinar will examine why being self-aware of our own judgments, beliefs and attitudes is so important in our work with victims. More importantly, it is this awareness that could have a profound impact on our work within this field-it could be the difference between life or death for the victims we serve.

In Part I of this two-part series, we will look at the importance of being mindful when working with victims of domestic violence. Topics of discussion will include:

  • A description of mindfulness
  • Research to support the importance of being aware of our judgments,
  • Beliefs and attitudes when working these cases
  • Potential problems that may arise in working with victims and offenders when we let these judgments get in the way.

Be sure to join us June 20 for Part 2 when we examine mindfulness when working with Domestic Violence Offenders.

 

Additional Resources
7 months ago
Insights on Expectations from Dr. Kimberly Miller
Such great insight from Dr. Kimberly Miller about establishing expectations with others. Check out m […]
1 year ago
Recognizing Mental Health Disorders in Others
The law enforcement and justice profession deal with different types of people with a myriad of p […]
1 year ago
Recognizing Mental Health Disorders in Others – An Interview with Amy Morgan
People use terms like "psychopath" or "manic" or "depressed" to describe others - often forgetting t […]
1 year ago
Providing Wellness Support for Online Child Exploitation Personnel: An Interview with Duane Bowers
Viewing images of child exploitation is nothing short of disturbing. But what if it was your job […]
X