Missing and Murdered Native Females

Registrations: 253

Date/Time by Timezone

Tue, Apr 21st, 2020 3:00 PM - 4:00 PM ET
Tue, Apr 21st, 2020 2:00 PM - 3:00 PM CT
Tue, Apr 21st, 2020 1:00 PM - 2:00 PM MT
Tue, Apr 21st, 2020 12:00 PM - 1:00 PM PT

First Name

Last Name

Organization Name

Email

Job Title

Justice Domain

By claiming your spot below you are giving consent to Justice Clearinghouse and partners to use this information to send additional emails and communications as described in the Privacy Policy below

The epidemic of Missing or Murdered Native American females has only recently begun to get some notice but the problem has existed for decades. A big part of this dilemma includes the jurisdictional challenges explained earlier in addition to the basic lack of interest in incidents involving Native females, viewed marginally as having caused their own situation through addiction, PTSD, or other issues by local law enforcement. Additionally, the Tribes limit data capture and prefer not to share the data they do have, which creates a mirage of minimal problems. This is compounded when multiplied by the number of tribes facing this issue. This session will look at the problem overall and look at what is being done to address the issue today.

Additional Resources
6 months ago
Using NamUs to Resolve Missing and Unidentified Indigenous Person Cases
NamUs is a powerful tool designed to assist with missing and unidentified persons cases. Traditional […]
9 months ago
Thoughts on Probation from David Rogers
Such a great thought from David Rogers of the Tribal Public Safety Innovations made during his webin […]
1 year ago
NCMEC Resources, Long-term Missing & Unidentified Children: An Interview with Carol Schweitzer
Not all law enforcement agencies have all the resources needed to effectively and efficiently inves […]
3 years ago
Law Enforcement Response to Missing and Unidentified Persons
At any given time, there are over 100,000 missing and unidentified persons in the United States. Jus […]
X