Multi-disciplinary Approaches to Combat Domestic Minor Sex Trafficking

Registrations: 40

Date/Time by Timezone

Tue, Jul 23rd, 2019 3:00 PM - 4:00 PM ET
Tue, Jul 23rd, 2019 2:00 PM - 3:00 PM CT
Tue, Jul 23rd, 2019 1:00 PM - 2:00 PM MT
Tue, Jul 23rd, 2019 12:00 PM - 1:00 PM PT

First Name

Last Name

Organization Name

Email

Job Title

Justice Domain

By claiming your spot below you are giving consent to Justice Clearinghouse and partners to use this information to send additional emails and communications as described in the Privacy Policy below

This interactive webinar will provide an overview and legal definition of domestic child sex trafficking and delineate how girls are often criminalized for experiencing sexual violence, including analysis of the correlation between domestic child sex trafficking and juvenile justice involvement. We will explore racial and gender disparities among victims, risk factors, and the criminalization of trauma and abuse. We will also address how being a trafficking survivor impacts a girl pre- and post-justice involvement and identify strategies to reduce reliance on the justice system as a response to girls’ trauma.

Additionally, this webinar will highlight how federal, state, and local agencies are addressing the needs of victims of child sex trafficking through advocacy partnerships and innovative policies and practices. While all 50 states and the District of Columbia have enacted anti-trafficking laws, few state agencies have developed specific child sex trafficking policies or require specialized training to help professionals across sectors to identify and respond to the complex needs of child sex trafficking survivors. This workshop provides an opportunity for participants to learn about key anti-trafficking laws as well as local efforts to address the needs of child sex trafficking victims through cross system, trauma-informed approaches to identify, respond to, provide service for, and to prevent the re-victimization of child sex trafficking victims.

Additional Resources
3 months ago
Developing Your Labor Trafficking Threat Assessment
Issues in immigration arise due to instances of labor trafficking – a modern form of slavery where […]
1 year ago
Domestic Child Sex Trafficking and Children in Foster Care: An Interview with Eva Klain
It's unimaginable that some of our most vulnerable children - those who are currently in the foster […]
2 years ago
Understanding Domestic Minor Sex Trafficking Infographic
Based on a webinar, this infographic dispells the most common myths about domestic minor sex traf […]
2 years ago
Protecting the Victims of Domestic Minor Sex Trafficking
Efforts to protect children identified as victims of domestic sex trafficking have gained momentum a […]
X