“Officer Why Did You Shoot My Dog?” The Dynamics of Officer Involved Shootings of Dogs

Why Did You Shoot My Dog
Registrations: 238

Date/Time by Timezone

Tue, Sep 11th, 2018 1:00 PM - 2:00 PM ET
Tue, Sep 11th, 2018 12:00 PM - 1:00 PM CT
Tue, Sep 11th, 2018 11:00 AM - 12:00 PM MT
Tue, Sep 11th, 2018 10:00 AM - 11:00 AM PT

First Name

Last Name

Organization Name

Email

Job Title

Justice Domain

By claiming your spot below you are giving consent to Justice Clearinghouse and partners to use this information to send additional emails and communications as described in the Privacy Policy below

As if law enforcement and the communities they serve have not been dealing with a crisis recently, there is an even larger one seriously eroding public faith and profoundly affecting law enforcement/community relations. It is officers shooting family pets.

When dogs are shot by law enforcement, it rips at the basic thread that holds law enforcement and the community together.  Today there are more than 80 million dogs living in 57 million U.S. households. Sixty-three percent of those households consider their dog a friend and family member. Chances are very high that law enforcement will encounter dogs in their daily interaction with the public. When a law enforcement officer kills or shoots someone’s dog, it deeply affects the family, as well as the officer, the neighborhood and the community.

This webinar will:

  • explore the increasing problem of officer-involved shootings of dogs
  • and discuss how agencies and individual offices can protect themselves from this growing problem.


 

The National Sheriffs’ Association (NSA) is one of the largest associations of law enforcement professionals in the United States, representing more than 3,000 elected sheriffs across the nation, and a total membership of more than 20,000. NSA is a non-profit organization dedicated to raising the level of professionalism among sheriffs, their deputies, and others in the field of criminal justice and public safety. Throughout its seventy-seven year history, NSA has served as an information clearinghouse for sheriffs, deputies, chiefs of police, other law enforcement professionals, state governments and the federal government.

 

 


Additional Resources
Join the Justice Clearinghouse Community of over 41,923 Justice Practitioners!

Join the Justice Clearinghouse Community of over 41,923 Justice Practitioners!

3-5 times per week we will send you updates on free upcoming webinars, custom created infographics and interviews with our presenters

You have Successfully Subscribed!

X