The Online Enticement of Children: Trends and Patterns from an In-depth analysis of NCMEC CyberTipline Reports

NCMEC-Online-Enticement-of-Children_-Trends-and-Patterns
Registrations: 369

Date/Time by Timezone

Tue, Oct 23rd, 2018 1:00 PM - 2:00 PM ET
Tue, Oct 23rd, 2018 12:00 PM - 1:00 PM CT
Tue, Oct 23rd, 2018 11:00 AM - 12:00 PM MT
Tue, Oct 23rd, 2018 10:00 AM - 11:00 AM PT

First Name

Last Name

Organization Name

Email

Job Title

Justice Domain

By claiming your spot below you are giving consent to Justice Clearinghouse and partners to use this information to send additional emails and communications as described in the Privacy Policy below

The National Center for Missing & Exploited Children operates the CyberTipline, the nation’s centralized reporting system for suspected child sexual exploitation.  In 2017 alone, the CyberTipline received more than 9 million reports; a number that has been growing exponentially every year. This uniquely positions NCMEC to identify patterns and trends in child sexual exploitation, such as the increasing and evolving “online enticement” of children.  To better understand this complex form of online victimization, NCMEC analyzed over 6,500 online enticement reports made to the CyberTipline in 2015.  The focus of this webinar will be to review and discuss the findings from this analysis.

  •          This session will focus on the overall patterns and trends found in this in-depth analysis, including those regarding offenders’ goals (e.g. sex, explicit images) and tactics (e.g. grooming, threats), the child/offender relationship (e.g. unknown, acquaintance, familial), the online locations used to commit this crime and the aftermath/outcomes for child victims. 
  •          Furthermore, important variations between online enticement sub-types (e.g. sextortion) and child age/gender groups will also be discussed.
  •          Lastly, implications of these findings will be discussed.
Additional Resources
Join the Justice Clearinghouse Community of over 41,923 Justice Practitioners!

Join the Justice Clearinghouse Community of over 41,923 Justice Practitioners!

3-5 times per week we will send you updates on free upcoming webinars, custom created infographics and interviews with our presenters

You have Successfully Subscribed!

X