Opioids, Animal Welfare and K9 Safety

Registrations: 82

Date/Time by Timezone

Tue, Nov 6th, 2018 3:00 PM - 4:00 PM ET
Tue, Nov 6th, 2018 2:00 PM - 3:00 PM CT
Tue, Nov 6th, 2018 1:00 PM - 2:00 PM MT
Tue, Nov 6th, 2018 12:00 PM - 1:00 PM PT

First Name

Last Name

Organization Name

Email

Job Title

Justice Domain

By claiming your spot below you are giving consent to Justice Clearinghouse and partners to use this information to send additional emails and communications as described in the Privacy Policy below

The opioid crisis has impacted animal welfare and working dog safety in several ways. This webinar reviews the risks to pets of opioid abusers and working K9s. Recommendations will be made to help keep pets of opioid abusers and working K9s safe, including risk mitigation and emergency preparedness. This material is appropriate for animal welfare workers, animal control officers, K9 handlers/officers, and veterinarians.

• Learn about the common animal maltreatment (neglect and abuse) cases that are being seen resulting from the opioid crisis;

• Learn steps to take to reduce the risk of opioid exposure in working K9s including emergency preparation with Narcan kits and other safety equipment.

• Learn to recognize the signs of opioid intoxication in dogs and steps to take in an emergency.

 

 


 

 

The National Law Enforcement Center on Animal Abuse was established by the National Sheriffs’ Association to provide law enforcement officers information on the realities of animal abuse and to promote their proactive involvement in the enforcement of animal abuse laws in their communities. Through our partners, the Center will serve as an information clearinghouse and forum for law enforcement on the growing problem of animal abuse and its link to other types of crimes, including violence against humans. The Center also promotes officer safety in officer-dog encounters through continuing education and training.

 

 


 

 

 

Additional Resources
Join the Justice Clearinghouse Community of over 41,923 Justice Practitioners!

Join the Justice Clearinghouse Community of over 41,923 Justice Practitioners!

3-5 times per week we will send you updates on free upcoming webinars, custom created infographics and interviews with our presenters

You have Successfully Subscribed!

X