Police Liability: Recent Developments under Section 1983

Registrations: 231

Date/Time by Timezone

Thu, Feb 7th, 2019 3:00 PM - 4:00 PM ET
Thu, Feb 7th, 2019 2:00 PM - 3:00 PM CT
Thu, Feb 7th, 2019 1:00 PM - 2:00 PM MT
Thu, Feb 7th, 2019 12:00 PM - 1:00 PM PT

First Name

Last Name

Organization Name

Email

Job Title

Justice Domain

By claiming your spot below you are giving consent to Justice Clearinghouse and partners to use this information to send additional emails and communications as described in the Privacy Policy below

Law enforcement professionals are under a lot of scrutiny these days. Stay ahead of the critics and learn the latest Supreme Court cases and best practices in the use of force. This webinar will cover new directions on the police use of force, trends, controversies, resources you can use, and much more. Specifically, you will learn about:

  • Supreme Court cases decided in 2018, covering four civil and three criminal that will affect your work, and previewing cases scheduled for 2019.
  • The latest on use of force, including restrictions on Taser use, handling emotionally disturbed subjects with de-escalation, the Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA), re-thinking the 21-foot rule on persons with knives, and the IACP consensus policy against shooting at vehicles.
  • The Supreme Court’s rejection of the “provocation rule” and what developments in the qualified immunity defense mean to you in law enforcement.
  • The body worm camera (BWC) debate on when police officers should view their recordings.

 

 


Police Misconduct: A Practitioner’s Guide to Section 1983 is more than just a treatise or a handbook. Written by a practitioner for practitioners on both the plaintiff’s and the defense side, judges, their clerks, and legal advisors, this book cites hundreds of cases and has issues checklists, practice tips, and dozens of forms you can use in your practice.

“With this guide, any person truly seeking knowledge on the law and its application in this field has a great place to start.”

Ron Hosko, President

Law Enforcement Legal Defense Fund (LELDF), Former Assistant Director, Federal Bureau of Investigation

 

Special! Get 10% off Wayne Beyer’s book, Police Misconduct:  A Practitioner’s Guide to Section 1983 when you use code JCH10

 


 

Additional Resources
X