Presenting Medical Evidence in Child Physical Abuse Cases

Registrations: 19

Date/Time by Timezone

Tue, Jul 9th, 2019 1:00 PM - 2:00 PM ET
Tue, Jul 9th, 2019 12:00 PM - 1:00 PM CT
Tue, Jul 9th, 2019 11:00 AM - 12:00 PM MT
Tue, Jul 9th, 2019 10:00 AM - 11:00 AM PT

First Name

Last Name

Organization Name

Email

Job Title

Justice Domain

By claiming your spot below you are giving consent to Justice Clearinghouse and partners to use this information to send additional emails and communications as described in the Privacy Policy below

When is a bruise not just a bruise?  When it represents an injury mechanism that was potentially life-threatening to a child.  Jurors frequently do not understand the force that must be used in order to inflict many skin, skeletal, & abdominal injuries in young children and infants, nor do they appreciate the state of mind that an abuser was in when they inflicted the injury.  As well, they may have trouble differentiating abuse from discipline depending on their own childhood and cultural backgrounds.  This presentation is tailored to investigators and prosecutors to facilitate their understanding of the violence involved in many abusive injuries and how to get the significance of injuries presented through a medical expert.

 

Additional Resources
2 months ago
After the Webinar: Abusive Head Trauma Pt 2. Q&A with the Presenters
Webinar presenters Dyanne Greer and Roger Blevins answered a number of your questions after their pr […]
3 months ago
Abusive Head Trauma for Prosecutors & Investigators (Part 1)
Abusive head trauma/inflicted traumatic brain injury cases (formerly “shaken baby syndrome”) are […]
9 months ago
Understanding Medical Records for Your Child Abuse Investigation and Prosecution Efforts
Medical reports and records make all the difference when it comes to proving child abuse cases. The […]
1 year ago
Understanding General Medical Records for Your Investigation or Prosecution: An Interview with Dyanne Greer
Medical records can be a roadmap for understanding what has happened to a victim. But unlike the […]
X