Presenting Medical Evidence in Child Sexual Abuse Cases: Why it’s normal to be normal & why that still matters

Registrations: 26

Date/Time by Timezone

Tue, Sep 10th, 2019 1:00 PM - 2:00 PM ET
Tue, Sep 10th, 2019 12:00 PM - 1:00 PM CT
Tue, Sep 10th, 2019 11:00 AM - 12:00 PM MT
Tue, Sep 10th, 2019 10:00 AM - 11:00 AM PT

First Name

Last Name

Organization Name

Email

Job Title

Justice Domain

By claiming your spot below you are giving consent to Justice Clearinghouse and partners to use this information to send additional emails and communications as described in the Privacy Policy below

Ninety five percent of all delayed ano-genital examinations in cases of suspected child sexual abuse are normal.  While usually normal, delayed sexual abuse examinations are noninvasive & are critical to the mental & physical well- being of the child. Given that most jurors expect victims of sexual abuse to have evidence of previous trauma, prosecuting suspected sexual abuse cases can be a very difficult undertaking.  This presentation is designed to give prosecutors & investigators a basic command of the latest medical literature regarding delayed child sexual abuse examination findings, as well as how to present that information through their medical expert.

Additional Resources
5 months ago
Abusive Head Trauma for Prosecutors & Investigators (Part 1)
Abusive head trauma/inflicted traumatic brain injury cases (formerly “shaken baby syndrome”) are […]
7 months ago
Missing Children via Online Luring
Just as technology assists our daily lives to make things easier and seamless, it also helps those w […]
9 months ago
Thoughts about Animal and Child Abuse from Andrew Campbell
Such incredible findings from Andrew Campbell's webinar, "Bad to the Bone: Pet Abuse, Child Abuse a […]
9 months ago
Bad to the Bone: Pet Abuse, Child Abuse, and Intimate Partner Violence
Children who witnessed abuse or have been abused themselves are at a higher risk to become violent d […]
X