Race, Ethnicity and Police Deployment

Registrations: 27

Date/Time by Timezone

Wed, Sep 11th, 2019 1:00 PM - 2:00 PM ET
Wed, Sep 11th, 2019 12:00 PM - 1:00 PM CT
Wed, Sep 11th, 2019 11:00 AM - 12:00 PM MT
Wed, Sep 11th, 2019 10:00 AM - 11:00 AM PT

First Name

Last Name

Organization Name

Email

Job Title

Justice Domain

By claiming your spot below you are giving consent to Justice Clearinghouse and partners to use this information to send additional emails and communications as described in the Privacy Policy below

Chicago is one of the most diverse cities in the country and, in spite of this, remains among the nation’s most segregated.   Serving the community poses some unique challenges for the Chicago Police Department. There are constant demands to address crime and disorder- made more complicated by a strong group of elected aldermen, that jealously guard how city services are delivered in their wards.

In 2011, the Illinois ACLU sued the city arguing that “Chicago officials have failed to ensure that police are deployed equitably across the City’s many diverse neighborhoods, resulting in delayed police responses to emergency calls in neighborhoods with higher minority populations.” Moreover, they suggested that “Neighborhoods with significant ethnic minority populations in Chicago are more likely to have slower response rates to emergency calls and higher rates of serious violent crimes, as compared to predominately white neighborhoods.” As a part of that litigation, a county judge ordered that a staffing study be conducted.

This presentation describes that analysis. We employed a workload-based staffing analysis for the Chicago Police Department Bureau of Patrol. Our discussion will describe our analytical strategy, data, and results. In addition, we discuss how understanding deployment in a large multi-layer police agency makes it difficult to identify “winners and losers.”

 


 

 

This webinar has been sponsored by the International Association of Law Enforcement Planners. IALEP is a member-governed organization for people working in, or interested in, planning, policy, budget, performance measurement, analysis, research, and other related functions for criminal justice agencies.

 


 

 

Additional Resources
10 months ago
Implicit Bias: What You Don’t Know Can Hurt You
The human mind is a truly incredible thing. How it processes information outside of our consciousnes […]
1 year ago
Emotional Intelligence for Law Enforcement: A Hidden Key for Survival
In today’s society, EQ is more important in the field of public service. John Thompson shares this […]
1 year ago
Employing Background Checks in Your Hiring Process: An Interview with Dr. Michael Aamodt
Background checks are a common part of the modern hiring process: but what role should background ch […]
X