Recognizing the Signs of Victimization in Children with Autism Spectrum Disorder

Registrations: 498

Date/Time by Timezone

Thu, Dec 5th, 2019 3:00 PM - 4:00 PM ET
Thu, Dec 5th, 2019 2:00 PM - 3:00 PM CT
Thu, Dec 5th, 2019 1:00 PM - 2:00 PM MT
Thu, Dec 5th, 2019 12:00 PM - 1:00 PM PT

First Name

Last Name

Organization Name

Email

Job Title

Justice Domain

By claiming your spot below you are giving consent to Justice Clearinghouse and partners to use this information to send additional emails and communications as described in the Privacy Policy below

This Webinar will examine the concept of traumatic stress as it relates to children and adolescents who have Autism Spectrum Disorder (ASD).  This webinar is meant to be a second part to Dr. Wesley Dotson’s discussion on ASD.  As a result, the focus will not be on ASD but on ASD and trauma.  The webinar will start with the basics of trauma-informed care for children and adolescents, as well as how trauma and stress responses affect your neurology (as well as how to regulate this response more efficiently).  We will then move to concrete tools and resources for working with children and adolescents with both ASD and trauma exposure such as the Road to Recovery training series from the National Child Traumatic Stress Network (NCTSN).

Specific, concrete tools the viewer will be able to take with them at the end of this webinar are:

  • How traumatic stress affects an individual’s neurology in the moment of crisis and how “pull a person out of their neurology” to help with de-escalation.
  • How YOUR neurology tries to drag you to a less effective response pattern during a crisis situation and how to reverse that effect.
  • Specific resources for learning more about trauma and children with ASD (e.g., the NCTSN).
  • Specific ways that ASD symptoms and trauma symptoms can be confused (e.g., odd eye contact or not answering your questions) and why this matters for your job.

 

This is the second of a 4 part series, including:

Additional Resources
11 months ago
Missing Children via Online Luring
Just as technology assists our daily lives to make things easier and seamless, it also helps those w […]
1 year ago
NCMEC Resources, Long-term Missing & Unidentified Children: An Interview with Carol Schweitzer
Not all law enforcement agencies have all the resources needed to effectively and efficiently inves […]
1 year ago
Federal Legislation Impacting Children Missing from Care and NCMEC Resources: An Interview with Leemie Kahng-Sofer
Any time a child goes missing is a gut-wrenching moment. But when that child goes missing while in t […]
2 years ago
Autism Awareness for Criminal Justice Professionals: An Interview with Trish Ieraci
In 2015, The ARC’s National Center on Criminal Justice & Disability Report said that 35% of in […]
X