Recruiting a Diverse Police Force: Insights and Action Items from a 21-City Study

Registrations: 15

Date/Time by Timezone

Tue, Sep 24th, 2019 1:00 PM - 2:00 PM ET
Tue, Sep 24th, 2019 12:00 PM - 1:00 PM CT
Tue, Sep 24th, 2019 11:00 AM - 12:00 PM MT
Tue, Sep 24th, 2019 10:00 AM - 11:00 AM PT

First Name

Last Name

Organization Name

Email

Job Title

Justice Domain

By claiming your spot below you are giving consent to Justice Clearinghouse and partners to use this information to send additional emails and communications as described in the Privacy Policy below

Attracting great candidates from diverse backgrounds is crucial to building law enforcement agencies that can serve communities effectively and build trust among residents. To make an impact today, many agencies are in need of a different set of solutions that can correctly identify and convert latent interest from prospective applicants.

In this webinar, we share the results of empirical studies with 21 US jurisdictions to understand the motivations of those currently in the police force and to apply lessons from the science of human decision-making to the process of attracting and recruiting new police officers. From deciding to express interest in a job to showing up for testing to assessing candidates fairly, the recruitment process involves a number of decision points that can make or break successful hiring.

 

Through this webinar, attendees will: 

  • Receive a brief theoretical overview of behavioral science, and how it can be applied in the field
  • Gain practical tips on how behavioral insights can be used by law enforcement agencies to attract more diverse candidates and reduce dropout rates in the recruitment process
  • Understand how randomized controlled trials can be used to test the effectiveness of making small, behavioral changes to recruitment processes.

 


 

This webinar has been presented in partnership with the International Association of Law Enforcement Planners. IALEP is a member-governed organization for people working in, or interested in, planning, policy, budget, performance measurement, analysis, research, and other related functions for criminal justice agencies.

 


 

Additional Resources
4 months ago
Cultural Awareness for Probation Officers and Justice Professionals
Justice professionals are typically exposed to people from different walks of life. As such, it is i […]
7 months ago
Diverse Generations in Public Safety
There are different types of personalities in the workplace, some of whom we may not necessarily see […]
11 months ago
Hiring Great People and Predictors for Law Enforcement Personnel: An Interview with Dr. Michael Aamodt
Finding and keeping great people has been a concern for all kinds of organizations for decades.  Ho […]
X