Restorative Justice & Victim Offender Dialogue

Registrations: 272

Date/Time by Timezone

Tue, Jan 22nd, 2019 3:00 PM - 4:00 PM ET
Tue, Jan 22nd, 2019 2:00 PM - 3:00 PM CT
Tue, Jan 22nd, 2019 1:00 PM - 2:00 PM MT
Tue, Jan 22nd, 2019 12:00 PM - 1:00 PM PT

First Name

Last Name

Organization Name

Email

Job Title

Justice Domain

By claiming your spot below you are giving consent to Justice Clearinghouse and partners to use this information to send additional emails and communications as described in the Privacy Policy below

Restorative Justice offers a refreshing and effective approach for addressing crime in a way that includes the victim, offender and community in a voluntary dialogue process that addresses the harm, its impact and what can be done to make things right. The process can be offered as a diversion or along with probation/parole terms or even during incarceration.  Participants are highly satisfied with this inclusive justice process that values everyone who was affected by the crime. Offenders experience deeper understanding of the impact of their actions, leading to accountability, remorse and lowered recidivism. Victims experience a true sense of justice by being fully included in the process, leading to the chance for healing and transformation. And, community members are given the opportunity to be actively engaged and supportive. Those working in the justice system greatly benefit by expanding their options for handling cases, being impactful and effective, and reaching their goals.

In this webinar, participants will learn about:

  • The philosophy and practice of Restorative Justice
  • Victim Offender Dialogue for both low-level and serious cases
  • The benefits for the offender, victim, community and justice system
  • The differences between Retributive and Restorative Justice
  • Ways to incorporate Restorative Justice concepts into your current work

 

~~~~~

"This meeting helped me to realize

that what I have done has affected others also.

It made me a better person because I can learn from my mistakes.

I will not commit a crime again.

Instead, I will face my problems and solve them in a peaceful manner."

From an Offender Participant

~~~~~

 

Additional Resources
X