Sexual Assault Survivors Bill of Rights

Registrations: 249

Date/Time by Timezone

Thu, Jul 16th, 2020 1:00 PM - 2:00 PM ET
Thu, Jul 16th, 2020 12:00 PM - 1:00 PM CT
Thu, Jul 16th, 2020 11:00 AM - 12:00 PM MT
Thu, Jul 16th, 2020 10:00 AM - 11:00 AM PT

First Name

Last Name

Organization Name

Email

Job Title

Justice Domain

By claiming your spot you are giving consent to Justice Clearinghouse and partners to use this information to send additional emails and communications as described in the Privacy Policy below.

The views and opinions expressed in this webinar do not necessarily reflect those of the Justice Clearinghouse and its Organizational Partners.

The federal government and more than twenty states have enacted laws entitling sexual assault survivors to information about the evidence collected in their case, requiring that the evidence be held for a certain period of time, that all backlogs be tested, and more. Are you aware of the requirements in your state? Katharine Manning participated in the federal task force on the Sexual Assault Survivors’ Bill of Rights. In this session, she will cover the legal requirements that govern sexual assault evidence collection and preservation, as well as the best practices that the federal task force identified for the treatment of survivors.

This is the second of a two-part series.

 

 

 


 

The National Sheriffs’ Association (NSA) is one of the largest associations of law enforcement professionals in the United States, representing more than 3,000 elected sheriffs across the nation, and a total membership of more than 20,000. NSA is a non-profit organization dedicated to raising the level of professionalism among sheriffs, their deputies, and others in the field of criminal justice and public safety. Throughout its seventy-seven year history, NSA has served as an information clearinghouse for sheriffs, deputies, chiefs of police, other law enforcement professionals, state governments and the federal government.

 

 

 


 

 

Additional Resources
9 months ago
Male Victims of Sexual Assault: Best Practices for Justice Professionals
When people discuss sexual violence, it is often assumed that the victim is female. This isn’t alw […]
1 year ago
Five Considerations for Working with Immigrant Victims of Sexual Assault
Sexual assault is a crime many people in immigrant communities face. While there is very little data […]
1 year ago
Understanding Sexual Violence and Appropriate Responses to Survivors
Over the last two years, survivors of sexual violence and harassment are coming forward and speak ou […]
1 year ago
Domestic Violence and Firearm Relinquishment: An Interview with Kim Wyatt and Sandra Shanahan
Domestic violence and guns can be a lethal combination. In 2014, Washington State adopted a fire […]
X