Staffing Analysis for Criminal Investigations

Registrations: 18

Date/Time by Timezone

Thu, Jun 13th, 2019 1:00 PM - 2:00 PM ET
Thu, Jun 13th, 2019 12:00 PM - 1:00 PM CT
Thu, Jun 13th, 2019 11:00 AM - 12:00 PM MT
Thu, Jun 13th, 2019 10:00 AM - 11:00 AM PT

First Name

Last Name

Organization Name

Email

Job Title

Justice Domain

By claiming your spot below you are giving consent to Justice Clearinghouse and partners to use this information to send additional emails and communications as described in the Privacy Policy below

This presentation defines the criminal investigations process as one that begins with call takers and ends when cases are prosecuted.  The impact of thorough preliminary investigations on detective workload is explained.  Effective quality control for preliminary investigations and use of preliminary investigation information for case screening are major topics.

Elements of agency-wide case management and workload measurement process is described as an alternative to investigative units keeping case assignment data within each unit. A model set of management reports based on RMS data are presented that can be used for measuring active caseloads and results achieved by investigative units.  This information is used to develop a detective staffing model for an individual agency that can identify be used over time to identify optimal caseloads for specific investigative units.

Finally, the development of goals and performance measures for specialized investigative units is addressed. The workload of these units is not driven by crime reports.  Development of plans for gang, drug and vice-related units are explained as a critical to the justification for and effectiveness of those units.


 

 

This webinar has been sponsored by the International Association of Law Enforcement Planners. IALEP is a member-governed organization for people working in, or interested in, planning, policy, budget, performance measurement, analysis, research, and other related functions for criminal justice agencies.

 


 

 

X