Stepping Up 101: A Primer for Sheriffs

Registrations: 3

Date/Time by Timezone

Tue, Feb 11th, 2020 3:00 PM - 4:00 PM ET
Tue, Feb 11th, 2020 2:00 PM - 3:00 PM CT
Tue, Feb 11th, 2020 1:00 PM - 2:00 PM MT
Tue, Feb 11th, 2020 12:00 PM - 1:00 PM PT

First Name

Last Name

Organization Name

Email

Job Title

Justice Domain

By claiming your spot below you are giving consent to Justice Clearinghouse and partners to use this information to send additional emails and communications as described in the Privacy Policy below

In the more than 500 counties that have joined the national Stepping Up initiative, sheriffs play an integral role in collaborating with county leadership and other community partners to implement policies, practices, and programs that support their efforts to reduce the number of people with mental illnesses in jails while ensuring community safety. Stepping Up and the National Sheriffs’ Association are co-hosting a webinar to outline the benefits to sheriffs of engaging in the initiative and to share concrete ideas on how sheriffs can help lead this work in their counties. Participants will hear from national experts and fellow sheriffs from communities of varying sizes about their work and the impact it has had in their communities and departments.

 

 


 

The National Sheriffs’ Association (NSA) is one of the largest associations of law enforcement professionals in the United States, representing more than 3,000 elected sheriffs across the nation, and a total membership of more than 20,000. NSA is a non-profit organization dedicated to raising the level of professionalism among sheriffs, their deputies, and others in the field of criminal justice and public safety. Throughout its seventy-seven year history, NSA has served as an information clearinghouse for sheriffs, deputies, chiefs of police, other law enforcement professionals, state governments and the federal government.

 

 

 


 

 

** This webinar has been certified by the National Sheriffs' Association and may be eligible for Continuing Education Units through your POST. Please consult your local certification processes for additional details. Paid subscribers that attend will be able to download a jointly issued attendance certificate that includes the National Sheriffs' Association logo.
Additional Resources
7 months ago
Trauma Informed Jails: An Interview with Dr. Robin Timme
We know that most inmates have some level of trauma in their background. But what about your correct […]
10 months ago
Thoughts on Incarceration from Carrie Hill
We loved this quote from Carrie Hill of the National Sheriffs Association made during her webinar, " […]
1 year ago
Legal Issues in Today’s Jail: Use of Force
Use of force is a sensitive issue, and it becomes even more problematic when it is in the jail setti […]
1 year ago
Legal Issues in Today’s Jail: Medical Care
For most of the population, being an inmate is somewhat equated to being bereft of rights – this i […]
X