The Neurobiology and Traumatic Impact of Sexual Assault

Registrations: 762

Date/Time by Timezone

Thu, Apr 25th, 2019 1:00 PM - 2:00 PM ET
Thu, Apr 25th, 2019 12:00 PM - 1:00 PM CT
Thu, Apr 25th, 2019 11:00 AM - 12:00 PM MT
Thu, Apr 25th, 2019 10:00 AM - 11:00 AM PT

First Name

Last Name

Organization Name

Email

Job Title

Justice Domain

By claiming your spot below you are giving consent to Justice Clearinghouse and partners to use this information to send additional emails and communications as described in the Privacy Policy below

This one-hour webinar is the first in a two-part series on understanding sexual violence and how to respond appropriately to victims. The foundation of trauma-informed response is an understanding of the ways by which emotional, psychological, and physical effects of trauma can impact victims’ cognitive processes, decision-making, memory, and behavior. A trauma-informed response is sensitive to these effects and helps survivors to regain feelings of control and empowerment during each step of their involvement with the social and legal systems. This training will examine the neurobiology of trauma, including but not limited to emotional presentation and affect following trauma, memory deficits, dissociation, and fight/flight/freeze response, and the lasting traumatic impact of sexual assault.

The second in this series will be Tues, May 28 Working with Sexual Assault Victims: Strategies for Justice Professionals.

Additional Resources
3 months ago
Thoughts about Sexual Violence from Lindsay Ashworth
Such a powerful statement from Lindsay Ashworth of the Arizona Coalition to End Domestic Violence ma […]
7 months ago
Sex Offender Management and Treatment Strategies: An Interview with Dr Tasha Menaker
It's understandable to initially have strong reactions about those who have committed some form of […]
10 months ago
Understanding the Dynamics, Tactics, and the Psychology of Sex Offenders: An Interview with Dr. Tasha Menaker
With a sexual assault happening every  98 seconds in the US, (equalling 1 in 6 women and 1 in 10 me […]
1 year ago
Five Tips for Improving Your Response to Male Victims of Sexual Assault
At least one in six men have experienced sexual assault in their lifetime (NISVS, 2017). Similar to […]
X