The Top 10 Reasons to Start a Police Homeless Outreach Team

Registrations: 2

Date/Time by Timezone

Wed, Oct 2nd, 2019 1:00 PM - 2:00 PM ET
Wed, Oct 2nd, 2019 12:00 PM - 1:00 PM CT
Wed, Oct 2nd, 2019 11:00 AM - 12:00 PM MT
Wed, Oct 2nd, 2019 10:00 AM - 11:00 AM PT

First Name

Last Name

Organization Name

Email

Job Title

Justice Domain

By claiming your spot below you are giving consent to Justice Clearinghouse and partners to use this information to send additional emails and communications as described in the Privacy Policy below

Un-arresting away homelessness in your community through the development of a homeless outreach team is one of the hottest trends in policing today. If your agency continues to struggle with more questions than answers about effective responses to homelessness, consider the top 10 reasons why you should start a homeless outreach team.

Homelessness is expensive. Each chronically homeless person on the streets of your community consumes up to $30,000 annually in public resources (such as jail stays and emergency room visits).

Homeless outreach teams combine the best elements of problem-oriented policing, intelligence-led policing and community-oriented policing. By breaking the “homeless circle of life” through police homeless outreach, your agency can:

  • Solve the problem, not the symptoms
  • Reduce the demand upon public services by high-need, high-utilizer clients
  • Reduce arrest and incarceration rates
  • Reduce your risk of costly litigation
  • Reduce citizen complaints and calls for service

 

Click Here to Register for Part 2 of this series, “How to Start a Police Homeless Outreach Team in 3 Easy Steps.”

 


 

The National Sheriffs’ Association (NSA) is one of the largest associations of law enforcement professionals in the United States, representing more than 3,000 elected sheriffs across the nation, and a total membership of more than 20,000. NSA is a non-profit organization dedicated to raising the level of professionalism among sheriffs, their deputies, and others in the field of criminal justice and public safety. Throughout its seventy-seven year history, NSA has served as an information clearinghouse for sheriffs, deputies, chiefs of police, other law enforcement professionals, state governments and the federal government.

 

 

 


 

 

X