Therapy K9’s: Changing the Way Law Enforcement Reaches Their Communities

Registrations: 9

Date/Time by Timezone

Thu, Oct 31st, 2019 3:00 PM - 4:30 PM ET
Thu, Oct 31st, 2019 2:00 PM - 3:30 PM CT
Thu, Oct 31st, 2019 1:00 PM - 2:30 PM MT
Thu, Oct 31st, 2019 12:00 PM - 1:30 PM PT

First Name

Last Name

Organization Name

Email

Job Title

Justice Domain

By claiming your spot below you are giving consent to Justice Clearinghouse and partners to use this information to send additional emails and communications as described in the Privacy Policy below

Policing in a ‘post-Ferguson’ world has left many law enforcement agencies asking how they can better reach their communities. In March 2017, Sheriff Dallas Baldwin of the Franklin County Sheriff’s Office in Columbus Ohio created the first law enforcement therapy K9 program in the state of Ohio. Over the last two years, they have watched as this innovative approach to community-police relations has broken down barriers and built bridges within their community.

In this webinar, members of the Therapy K9 team will speak about how they created their program and built it into a model for other agencies to emulate. Participants can expect to leave with new insights, strategies, and approaches that will equip them with a solid foundation to start a therapy K9 program of their own.

 

 

 


 

 

The National Law Enforcement Center on Animal Abuse was established by the National Sheriffs’ Association to provide law enforcement officers information on the realities of animal abuse and to promote their proactive involvement in the enforcement of animal abuse laws in their communities. Through our partners, the Center will serve as an information clearinghouse and forum for law enforcement on the growing problem of animal abuse and its link to other types of crimes, including violence against humans. The Center also promotes officer safety in officer-dog encounters through continuing education and training.

 

 

 

The National Animal Care & Control Association (NACA) was formed in 1978 for the express purpose of assisting its members to perform their duties in a professional manner. We believe only carefully selected and properly trained animal control personnel can correct community problems resulting from irresponsible animal ownership. NACA’s purpose is to preserve the Human/Animal Bond by insisting on responsible animal ownership.

 


 

 

 

** This webinar has been certified by the National Sheriffs' Association and may be eligible for Continuing Education Units through your POST. Please consult your local certification processes for additional details. Paid subscribers that attend will be able to download a jointly issued attendance certificate that includes the National Sheriffs' Association logo.
X