Tribal-Federal-State Jurisdiction and its Relationship to Public Safety in Indian Country

Registrations: 6

Date/Time by Timezone

Tue, Aug 13th, 2019 1:00 PM - 2:00 PM ET
Tue, Aug 13th, 2019 12:00 PM - 1:00 PM CT
Tue, Aug 13th, 2019 11:00 AM - 12:00 PM MT
Tue, Aug 13th, 2019 10:00 AM - 11:00 AM PT

First Name

Last Name

Organization Name

Email

Job Title

Justice Domain

By claiming your spot below you are giving consent to Justice Clearinghouse and partners to use this information to send additional emails and communications as described in the Privacy Policy below

The complexity of jurisdiction in Indian Country is reviewed in historical context from the first encounters with European nations, the establishment of the United States until today. An analysis of the subsequent Treaties and what they established in the recognition of tribal sovereignty. The change from treaties to congressional acts, laws, court decisions and federal policies are studied in order to understand the current state of jurisdiction tribes must struggle with as they attempt to provide court, police and probation services in their own communities.

Additional Resources
3 months ago
Using NamUs to Resolve Missing and Unidentified Indigenous Person Cases
NamUs is a powerful tool designed to assist with missing and unidentified persons cases. Traditional […]
4 months ago
Cultural Awareness for Probation Officers and Justice Professionals
Justice professionals are typically exposed to people from different walks of life. As such, it is i […]
5 months ago
Thoughts on Probation from David Rogers
Such a great thought from David Rogers of the Tribal Public Safety Innovations made during his webin […]
1 year ago
Ambiguous Loss: The Impact of Missing Persons on Victims, Advocates and Justice System Personnel. An Interview with Duane Bowers
It's incomprehensible the grief a family must feel when one of its members has gone missing. But […]
X