Victim Awareness for Justice Professionals

Registrations: 10

Date/Time by Timezone

Thu, Jul 25th, 2019 3:00 PM - 4:00 PM ET
Thu, Jul 25th, 2019 2:00 PM - 3:00 PM CT
Thu, Jul 25th, 2019 1:00 PM - 2:00 PM MT
Thu, Jul 25th, 2019 12:00 PM - 1:00 PM PT

First Name

Last Name

Organization Name

Email

Job Title

Justice Domain

By claiming your spot below you are giving consent to Justice Clearinghouse and partners to use this information to send additional emails and communications as described in the Privacy Policy below

Much of the work in the Juvenile and Criminal Justice field focuses on the offender, such as: what crime was committed, who is at fault and how they can be punished. The other person(s) involved in this same crime, those who suffered harm, are often given less attention, support and significance, which can lead to feelings of being re-victimized. This program will focus on the importance of understanding the victim experience in order to support victims effectively and with sensitivity. This attention and acknowledgment for those harmed by crime demonstrates to the community that the justice system is working with victims, validating what they have been through, and supporting their healing and return to as normal a life as possible.

In this webinar, participants will learn about:

  • The potential impacts of crime on a victim’s physical, emotional, spiritual and intellectual health
  • Steps that can be taken to support victims in their healing process
  • Tips for communicating empathetically with victims of crime
  • The benefit of Victim Offender Dialogue for victims of crime
Additional Resources
X