What Happens When You Get Sued: The Civil Litigation Process for Law Enforcement Officers

Registrations: 8

Date/Time by Timezone

Thu, Aug 22nd, 2019 3:00 PM - 4:00 PM ET
Thu, Aug 22nd, 2019 2:00 PM - 3:00 PM CT
Thu, Aug 22nd, 2019 1:00 PM - 2:00 PM MT
Thu, Aug 22nd, 2019 12:00 PM - 1:00 PM PT

First Name

Last Name

Organization Name

Email

Job Title

Justice Domain

By claiming your spot below you are giving consent to Justice Clearinghouse and partners to use this information to send additional emails and communications as described in the Privacy Policy below

Your job brings you in contact with the criminally accused, but now you are called the “defendant” in a civil case. What are the steps in civil litigation? Is your money, your house at risk? Is a settlement like a plea bargain where you admit your “guilt”? How can a civil case affect your career? Learn:

  • When and how the city, town, or county will provide counsel to represent you.
  • How the discovery process, from interrogatories, document production, and deposition will require disclosure of personal information about your background, training, experience, and prior discipline, and how you can prevent public disclosure outside the case.
  • How to prepare for your testimony at trial, what to wear, where to sit, and how the jury will view your demeanor.
  • Why a no-fault settlement may be better than trial for your career as a law enforcement officer.
Additional Resources
X