What Justice Professionals Need to Know about First Amendment Speech and the Public Sector

Registrations: 325

Date/Time by Timezone

Wed, Aug 29th, 2018 1:00 PM - 2:00 PM ET
Wed, Aug 29th, 2018 12:00 PM - 1:00 PM CT
Wed, Aug 29th, 2018 11:00 AM - 12:00 PM MT
Wed, Aug 29th, 2018 10:00 AM - 11:00 AM PT

First Name

Last Name

Organization Name

Email

Job Title

Justice Domain

By claiming your spot below you are giving consent to Justice Clearinghouse and partners to use this information to send additional emails and communications as described in the Privacy Policy below

 

The Supreme Court has ruled that, while public employees maintain their First Amendment communication rights, those rights must be balanced against impact and harm to the organization the employee works for. In this presentation we will address:

  • Supreme Court case law development of free speech case law for public employees
  • What is a protected communication
  • The role and impact of social media communications
  • Regulation of off-duty conduct
  • The role of policies and procedures
  • Sustainable rules and policies
  • Employer liability risks under the First Amendment and risk mitigation 

 


 

The National Sheriffs’ Association (NSA) is one of the largest associations of law enforcement professionals in the United States, representing more than 3,000 elected sheriffs across the nation, and a total membership of more than 20,000. NSA is a non-profit organization dedicated to raising the level of professionalism among sheriffs, their deputies, and others in the field of criminal justice and public safety. Throughout its seventy-seven year history, NSA has served as an information clearinghouse for sheriffs, deputies, chiefs of police, other law enforcement professionals, state governments and the federal government.

 


 

Additional Resources
2 months ago
First Amendment Speech and the Public Sector Employee: An Interview with Rick Hodsdon
Flag burning. Letters to the Editor. Peaceful Protest. Taking a knee. Graphic t-shirts. T […]
Join the Justice Clearinghouse Community of over 41,923 Justice Practitioners!

Join the Justice Clearinghouse Community of over 41,923 Justice Practitioners!

3-5 times per week we will send you updates on free upcoming webinars, custom created infographics and interviews with our presenters

You have Successfully Subscribed!

X