What Justice Professionals Need to Know about Garrity: Myths and Realities

Registrations: 352

Date/Time by Timezone

Thu, Jul 18th, 2019 3:00 PM - 4:00 PM ET
Thu, Jul 18th, 2019 2:00 PM - 3:00 PM CT
Thu, Jul 18th, 2019 1:00 PM - 2:00 PM MT
Thu, Jul 18th, 2019 12:00 PM - 1:00 PM PT

First Name

Last Name

Organization Name

Email

Job Title

Justice Domain

By claiming your spot below you are giving consent to Justice Clearinghouse and partners to use this information to send additional emails and communications as described in the Privacy Policy below

In public sector disciplinary investigations whether of a personnel nature, potential crime or both probably no subject has more myths and misunderstandings than the interplay between the Fifth Amendment, criminal law and personnel law that has evolved from the United States Supreme Court decision of Garrity v. New Jersey. In this webinar, we are going to explore the constitutional background of the topic, the facts of the controlling case law and the legal and practical implications for public sector employers, employees, their attorneys, and unions. We will cover so-called Garrity Warnings when they are used, when they are not needed and the implications for public sector misconduct investigations of employees.

 

 

 


 

The National Sheriffs’ Association (NSA) is one of the largest associations of law enforcement professionals in the United States, representing more than 3,000 elected sheriffs across the nation, and a total membership of more than 20,000. NSA is a non-profit organization dedicated to raising the level of professionalism among sheriffs, their deputies, and others in the field of criminal justice and public safety. Throughout its seventy-seven year history, NSA has served as an information clearinghouse for sheriffs, deputies, chiefs of police, other law enforcement professionals, state governments and the federal government.


 

 

** This webinar has been certified by the National Sheriffs' Association and may be eligible for Continuing Education Units through your POST. Please consult your local certification processes for additional details. Paid subscribers that attend will be able to download a jointly issued attendance certificate that includes the National Sheriffs' Association logo.
Additional Resources
5 months ago
Family Medical Leave Act for Justice Professionals
The Family Medical Leave Act is one of the major pieces of legislation adopted in the early 1990s. I […]
1 year ago
Giglio, Brady and Discipline Disclosures: An Interview with Rick Hodsdon
What is the Brady case and what does it have to do with you as a law enforcement officer or prosecut […]
confidential informants
2 years ago
11 Things to Keep In Mind Managing Confidential Informants
Based on webinar content, this infographic provides 11 key tips for prosecutors and law enforceme […]
X