Working and Managing Inter-Agency Relationships: Investigating & Prosecuting Animal Abuse Cases

Registrations: 4

Date/Time by Timezone

Thu, Jul 30th, 2020 3:00 PM - 4:00 PM ET
Thu, Jul 30th, 2020 2:00 PM - 3:00 PM CT
Thu, Jul 30th, 2020 1:00 PM - 2:00 PM MT
Thu, Jul 30th, 2020 12:00 PM - 1:00 PM PT

First Name

Last Name

Organization Name

Email

Job Title

Justice Domain

By claiming your spot below you are giving consent to Justice Clearinghouse and partners to use this information to send additional emails and communications as described in the Privacy Policy below

Successful animal cruelty investigations and prosecutions require strong relationships between many agencies and entities. The police, animal services, animal rescue groups, veterinarians, prosecutors, and more have a part to play in bringing these cases to the finish line. In this webinar, Oregon’s special prosecutor for animal cruelty cases Jake Kamins will discuss his experiences, good and bad, in coordinating multiple agencies through taking these often-complex cases to trial and bringing these defendants to justice.

 

You will learn:

  • How to coordinate investigations and search warrants with multiple agencies involved.
  • Best practices for ensuring all discovery is collected and turned over when multiple agencies are working on a case.
  • How to ensure agencies will continue to work together harmoniously on animal cruelty cases.

 


 

The National Animal Care & Control Association (NACA) was formed in 1978 for the express purpose of assisting its members to perform their duties in a professional manner. We believe only carefully selected and properly trained animal control personnel can correct community problems resulting from irresponsible animal ownership. NACA’s purpose is to preserve the Human/Animal Bond by insisting on responsible animal ownership.

 

 

 

 

 

The National Law Enforcement Center on Animal Abuse was established by the National Sheriffs’ Association to provide law enforcement officers information on the realities of animal abuse and to promote their proactive involvement in the enforcement of animal abuse laws in their communities. Through our partners, the Center will serve as an information clearinghouse and forum for law enforcement on the growing problem of animal abuse and its link to other types of crimes, including violence against humans. The Center also promotes officer safety in officer-dog encounters through continuing education and training.

 

 


 

** This webinar has been certified by the National Animal Care and Control Association and may be eligible for Continuing Education Units. Please consult your local certification processes for additional details. Current NACA Members who attend will be able to download a jointly issued attendance certificate that includes the National Animal Care & Control Association logo.
X