Working with Your Local Vets: Creating Veterinary Partnerships among Law Enforcement, Prosecution and your Veterinary Community

Registrations: 9

Date/Time by Timezone

Thu, Apr 23rd, 2020 1:00 PM - 2:00 PM ET
Thu, Apr 23rd, 2020 12:00 PM - 1:00 PM CT
Thu, Apr 23rd, 2020 11:00 AM - 12:00 PM MT
Thu, Apr 23rd, 2020 10:00 AM - 11:00 AM PT

First Name

Last Name

Organization Name

Email

Job Title

Justice Domain

By claiming your spot below you are giving consent to Justice Clearinghouse and partners to use this information to send additional emails and communications as described in the Privacy Policy below

When investigating and prosecuting animal cruelty offenses, the state almost always needs a veterinary expert to prove its case. It is therefore critical for law enforcement to establish strong relationships with veterinarians so they can rely on their thoughtful and knowledgeable scientific analysis. In this webinar, Oregon’s Animal Cruelty Deputy District Attorney Jake Kamins will share what he’s learned through his experiences working with all types of veterinarians, from private practice vets to humane society vet, and everything in between. (Including the very odd story of one “mobile vet” who disappeared mid-case!)

 

You will learn:

  • How to communicate best with veterinarians in order to establish trust and a shared knowledge base.
  • What veterinarians don’t understand about criminal proceedings, and how law enforcement can teach them.
  • How to interface with animal rescue groups, to further strengthen cruelty investigations.

 


 

The National Animal Care & Control Association (NACA) was formed in 1978 for the express purpose of assisting its members to perform their duties in a professional manner. We believe only carefully selected and properly trained animal control personnel can correct community problems resulting from irresponsible animal ownership. NACA’s purpose is to preserve the Human/Animal Bond by insisting on responsible animal ownership.

 

 

 

 

 

The National Law Enforcement Center on Animal Abuse was established by the National Sheriffs’ Association to provide law enforcement officers information on the realities of animal abuse and to promote their proactive involvement in the enforcement of animal abuse laws in their communities. Through our partners, the Center will serve as an information clearinghouse and forum for law enforcement on the growing problem of animal abuse and its link to other types of crimes, including violence against humans. The Center also promotes officer safety in officer-dog encounters through continuing education and training.

 

 


 

X