Youth Homelessness and Juvenile Justice: Supporting Youth Across Systems

Registrations: 378

Date/Time by Timezone

Thu, Feb 20th, 2020 1:00 PM - 2:00 PM ET
Thu, Feb 20th, 2020 12:00 PM - 1:00 PM CT
Thu, Feb 20th, 2020 11:00 AM - 12:00 PM MT
Thu, Feb 20th, 2020 10:00 AM - 11:00 AM PT

First Name

Last Name

Organization Name

Email

Job Title

Justice Domain

By claiming your spot below you are giving consent to Justice Clearinghouse and partners to use this information to send additional emails and communications as described in the Privacy Policy below

Nationally, an estimated 78 percent of young people who have experienced homelessness report that they have also had at least one interaction with law enforcement, while 44 percent have spent time in a jail or detention facility. Join us to learn about ways that communities can better support young people who find themselves at the intersections of youth homelessness and juvenile justice to ensure that youth do not have unnecessary contact with the juvenile justice system and that if they do come in contact with the justice system, that they exit to safe, stable, and secure housing. Participants will also gain a better understanding of ways that the newly reauthorized Juvenile Justice and Delinquency Prevention Act can help states ensure more stable housing options for youth in the juvenile justice system.

Additional Resources
3 months ago
From Child Welfare to the Juvenile Justice System: Disrupting the Abuse to Prison Pipeline For Girls
There is a problem with the child welfare system. Children are directed to the child welfare system […]
8 months ago
Building Resiliency for Girls in the Juvenile Justice System by Disrupting the Abuse to Prison Pipeline
Unfortunate is an understatement when we talk about the fate of a lot of children who end up in juve […]
1 year ago
Domestic Child Sex Trafficking and Children in Foster Care
According to studies from the State Policy Advocacy Center and the U.S. Department of Housing and Ur […]
1 year ago
Federal Legislation Impacting Children Missing from Care and NCMEC Resources: An Interview with Leemie Kahng-Sofer
Any time a child goes missing is a gut-wrenching moment. But when that child goes missing while in t […]
X